Why Practice The Six Heart Virtues?

Jan 26, 2023 | Virtues of the Heart

Sometimes I need to pause and remind myself why I practice the six heart virtues. I don’t know about you, but my ego never sleeps and is always asserting itself. That is why persistence and determination are an important part of the practice.

To appreciate the heart virtues and their value, one must accept the idea that there is a central Source that gives life to all things, including the known and unknown. This Source goes by many names: God, Spirit, Atman, First Cause, Elohim, Allah, and countless others. For simplicity, I will refer to this Source as the Universe, but it is just a word.

The Universe expresses itself through all forms of life here on Earth and throughout the cosmos. Some life forms seem to be more beautiful or significant than others, but as they say, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. A flower is what it is, true to itself, and does not try to be anything other than a flower. A rat, goldfish, elephant, dolphin, ant, tree, or even a butterfly are all the same in that regard. They express themselves without hesitation, doubt, or worry. We see the physical expressions of the unfiltered Universe expressed in these natural life forms. They are all mysteriously wondrous, beautiful, and amazing in their own right and they can take our breath away with their natural expressions.

Humans are here to express the Universe in the same manner. But humans–you and I–have a choice: to be in alignment with the Universe or not. We can choose to consciously tune into the universe for inspiration, creativity, insight, and to arouse our imagination. While this has been discussed in many philosophies, religions, and teachings for thousands of years, it remains rare to find those who consciously practice this perspective.

Humans gather most of their data through the five senses, and it has served us well for millennia. Our five senses help us navigate the three-dimensional world we live in and have kept us alive. But there is more than meets the eye; the higher dimensions of the universe communicate at a higher frequency. It cannot be heard or captured by the mind or the 5 senses because it does not come in the language of words. It is not born in the 3D history of the mind.

We need to exercise a new sensory system to become aware of, receive, and transmit these higher frequencies of intelligence and love.

The six heart virtues are the means by which we extend our antennae beyond the physical domain. The intelligence of the Universe needs to be drawn down into our mind and body. The heart and emotions are the sensory system we need to develop in order to accomplish this.

The intelligence of the universe comes to us as intuition, impulse, inspiration, insight, ideas, imagination, and direct knowing. The heart is the sensory system that can receive these energetic transfers from the universe. It works with the mind to integrate this knowledge into our physical lives.

My intention is to allow the Universe to inform me in my life experience through the practice of the six heart virtues, to draw in higher levels of intelligence.

I have a choice: to listen to my historical mind or to the higher intelligence of the Universe. This intelligence offers me a new way of being in the world where I feel a connection to all life, my capacity to express love is increased, I have a sense of being guided, I am more creative, and my ability to remain calm and resilient in the face of challenges is increased significantly.

To accomplish this, I need to allow space for the Universe to enter my consciousness and be a guiding co-creative force in my life expression. We are One. My Self has expanded to include my once-forgotten larger Self, the Source of life itself. I am aligning in this practice with the Universe and its will to expand and unfold.

From this aligned state, I can do whatever I am moved or called upon to do while living in this body, at this time, on this Earth.

It does not matter what I choose to do with my time so long as it is in alignment with the Universe.

Conscious doing (in alignment) and being present includes interacting with every situation in my life, even the smallest seemingly insignificant, or inconsequential moments. If I only want the big beautiful moments, I am not aligned. I am merely feeding my ego.

The Creativity of Life

As an artist, being creative has been a constant in my life. I have had many moments of creative bliss where I was flowing in whatever my creative expression was at the time. I did not necessarily understand the process then, but I have a better understanding now and I know how to allow it to flow.

“True creativity flows only from stillness. When stillness becomes conscious, the spiritual dimension enters your life and you begin to be guided by an intelligence far greater than the human mind.” 

—Eckhart Tolle

Creativity is not just for artists who create art. Everyone is the artist of their own life experience. We, all of us, are creating all the time without exception. It is just that most of us do not see the beauty in that act of creation.

The six heart virtues, when practiced authentically in our behaviors and actions in our everyday life, connect us to the universe which guides us to live a more meaningful, creative, and connected life.

The authentic practice of the virtues of Appreciation, Compassion, Forgiveness, Humility, Understanding, and Valor in our behaviors is the link to the Universe and its intelligence, which is our next level of human consciousness.

That is why I practice.

Wingmakers Study Groups

Wingmakers Study Groups

Subscribe Newsletter

Latest Posts

Pin It on Pinterest